Disease Processes

Top Cause of Death in South Florida & Resources to Help You Live Longer and Healthier

Each of the top causes of death are highlighted below. Click to explore each cause of death and learn what you can do to improve your quality of life. Knowledge is power!

1. Cancer

 

 

American Cancer Society : https://www.cancer.org/cancer/all-cancer-types.html

2. Heart Disease

 

 

American Heart Association: http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/

3. Lower Respiratory Disease

Fast Facts from CDC: https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/copd.htm 

American Lung Association: http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/ 

Lee Health Asthma Management Program: 6 month program, patients seen monthly by a certified asthma educator.

Taught and shown tools necessary to self-manage and control their asthma 239.343.0775

4. Unintentional Injury

5. Stroke

Support Group for Stroke Survivors: http://www.swflresourcelink.com/provider/stroke-club 

American Stroke Association stroke resource center: http://www.strokeassociation.org/STROKEORG/Professionals/Stroke-Resources-for-Professionals_UCM_308581_SubHomePage.jsp 

Downloadable Stroke infographics and patient education resources: http://www.strokeassociation.org/STROKEORG/Professionals/Stroke-Prevention-Resources_UCM_451918_SubHomePage.jsp

LMHS Fort Myers Stroke Support Group:  Ryann.jeffery@leememorial.org; 239.343.3493 for recorded message confirming time and location

7. Alzheimer’s Disease

Alzheimer’s Association: http://www.alz.org 

Alvin A. Dubin Alzheimer’s Resource Center: http://www.alzheimersswfl.org/index.asp

Alzheimer’s Support Groups of Lee County: http://www.alzheimersswfl.org/supportmeetings.asp 

Florida Department of elder Affairs Disease Initiative: http://elderaffairs.state.fl.us/doea/alz.php 

Florida Alzheimer’s Disease Initiative Education Manual: http://elderaffairs.state.fl.us/doea/docs/adi_manual_2016.pdf 

8. Suicide

Community Awareness in Recognizing and Educating Suicide (C.A.R.E.S. Prevention)-http://www.caresprevention.org/support-groups.html 

Lee County Survivors of Suicide: https://afsp.org/support_group/lee-county-survivors-of-suicide/  239.541.1151/ 

SOSLeeCounty@aol.com

 

Cape Coral Hope Healing Survivors of Suicide Support Group: http://www.hopehospice.org/LossAfterSuicide/

Good charts on Suicides in Southwest Florida by age, and gender: http://www.news-press.com/story/news/investigations/2016/01/15/suicide-prevention-deaths-southwest-florida-lee-county-collier-county/74212084/ 

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800.273.TALK - 24 hours day, 7 days week, confidential and free

9. Liver Disease

Liver Cirrhosis: A Caregiver Training Video for Family and Friends: http://www.cirrhosis-caregivers.com 

American Liver Foundation: http://www.liverfoundation.org/chapters/ 

Florida Hepatitis Resource Guide: http://www.floridahealth.gov/diseases-and-conditions/hepatitis/_documents/hep-resource-guide.pdf 

American Liver Foundation drug discount card: http://www.liverfoundation.org/downloads/alf_download_1110.pdf 

11. Parkinson’s disease

Parkinson Association of Southwest Florida: http://www.pasfi.org

Parkinson Disease Association South Florida Chapter: https://www.apdaparkinson.org/community/south-florida/YMCA

Parkinson’s exercise programs: http://www.swflymca.org/programs/parkinson-s-programs/  

Hope Parkinson program: http://www.hopeparkinson.org